Revelation - Chapters 4 & 5

Six Wings and Full of Eyes


Revelation 4:8 – And the four living creatures, each by itself severally, had six wings, around and within [are] full of eyes, and rest they have not day and night, saying, ‘Holy, holy, holy, Lord God Almighty, who was, and who is, and who is coming;’ (YLT)

First of all, what do the six wings represent? It is simple. Each pair of wings is a level of faith. So three pairs of wings is the third and highest level of spiritual faith. Remember from our past discussions that there are three levels of faith: Passover, Pentecost, and Tabernacles. Passover faith is associated with the outer court of Ezekiel’s Temple and eros love. Pentecost is associated with the inner court and phileo love. Finally, Tabernacles is associated with the Most Holy Place and agape love. Therefore, two wings represents Passover faith, four wings represents Pentecost faith, and six wings represents Tabernacle faith. The overcomers will be the first to have six wings, but eventually everyone will gain them because Revelation says that the four living creatures will have six wings, and the four living creatures refers to all of creation.

Now what about full of eyes? This is similar to the six wings it that it represents the completeness of God’s glory. Look at this similar verses:

Matthew 6:22 – ‘The lamp of the body is the eye, if therefore, thine eye may perfect, all thy body shall be enlightened, (YLT)

Zechariah 3:9 – For lo, the stone that I put before Joshua, On one stone [are] seven eyes, Lo, I am graving its graving, An affirmation of Jehovah of Hosts, And I have removed the iniquity of the land in one day. (YLT)

Matthew says that the lamp of the body is the eye. This means that God’s glory can be seen through Christians. This is a common teaching in Christianity. People will know we are Christians not only because we claim to be, but by our love and actions. This is God’s light and glory shinning through. To take this further, Zechariah talks about a stone with seven eyes. The stone represents Christ, and remember that seven represents spiritual completeness. Therefore, “full of eyes” or “seven eyes” both represent the completeness of God’s glory.

Revelation – Chapter 5

Chapter 5 does not contain any new topics that we have not already discussed. It mentions the seven spirits, the twenty-four elders, and the four living creatures. It also mentions the seven seals, but we will go through those when we get to chapter 6.


Revelation chapters 4 and 5 simply give us a lot of imagery that depict God’s overall plan to restore all living things. This shows us that God doesn’t condone sin, but uses sin to help us see a progression in our faith and holiness. Although sin must be judged, God doesn’t think any less of you, get upset, angry, or disappointed when you sin. It is all part of the plan.

Page 3 of 3

< Previous                                         Return to Revelation Articles >

Share this page:
Enjoy this page? Pay it forward! Here's how...

Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

  1. Click on the HTML link code below.
  2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.

Subscribe to Bible Truth Newsletter:

Enter your E-mail Address
Enter your First Name

Don't worry — your e-mail address is totally secure.
I promise to use it only to send you Bible Truth.